11:11

Every night around 11:11 I scream, “EVERYONE IT IS 11:11 MAKE A WISH!” It doesn’t matter if I’m home alone or around a group of people. Almost every night I make the same exact wish. No matter how the day goes or what situations are going on around me, it’s the same wish. After so many times of hoping for the same things, you would think I would want to change it. Well I have yet to learn this.
While growing up, making wishes seemed like a magical thing. When a little kid sees a shooting star they automatically make a wish. I think my mom took the whole wish thing out of proportion. We were told to wish on dandelions, eyelashes and wishbones. During the summer I would go pick dandelions, blow the white fluffy stuff everywhere and then make a wish. It seemed like when the seeds are fluttered around my wishes were going to come true. The hope spread just as the flower did. Actually it’s quite a magical thought. The whole eyelashes thing didn’t really happen that much though, but when it did I was all over it. Then comes wishbones. Well, Logan and I would pull so hard at it. It always broke with Logan in favor. I’ve kind of given up on the wishbones; I hate not having wishes.
Birthdays were always good too. If you blew out all the candles at once your wish would come true. Well, that’s what we were always told. I guess I was jealous when everyone else’s birthdays came along and they got to make their own wishes. That’s why birthdays are so special to me. It’s your own day to make your dreams come true. Birthday’s are a start to a new year where anything can happen. Yeah, getting older stinks, but that’s the price we pay. We get to start over and try to make our birthday wish come true. Isn’t it funny how much your wishes have changed since you’ve been really little to know? As a four year old I wished to be a princess. Now maybe it’ll happen, but I think it’s going to be a long shot. When I was thirteen I remember wishing to get older faster. I mean who doesn’t love all this responsibility as an adult. My last birthday wish can still come true. I’m just letting it all work itself out.
For me, every night at 11:11 I try to help make my dream come true. I know wishing something to happen won’t make it happen. That’s just a ridiculous thought. I wish because it helps me inspire to make my wish happen. I try and try to make it work by myself. Maybe wishing doesn’t always hurt. Like every night I know what my wish is.
What will you be wishing for tonight?

A dream is a wish your heart makes
When you’re fast asleep
In dreams you lose your heartaches
Whatever you wish for, you keep
Have faith in your dreams and someday
Your rainbow will come smiling thru
No matter how your heart is grieving
If you keep on believing
the dream that you wish will come true
-Cinderella 

2 comments on “11:11

  1. […] 11:11 (ridgwaydanielle.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] 11:11 (ridgwaydanielle.wordpress.com) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. Filed under 30 Day Challenge and tagged 30 days, Eyelash, Wish Fulfillment, wish list | Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

